my first bindi

my first bindi

All under a tree

All under a tree

Yesterday we took an excursion 3 hours outside of Indore to a initiate a new school class that Pratibha Syntex funded. The entire Village came out to welcome us and smeared bindis onto our foreheads as a welcome greeting. I was very proud of mine, since it was my first genuine bindi. I refused to wash mine off or let anyone touch it. “No, No” I said, ” I’ll keep mine.”
The entire village had never seen a foreigner before and so they thought me very exotic. Of course I soon got dehydrated, dizzy, and had to be walked out of the village and sent home. I’m sure they were very disenchanted by me by then. Which is probably for the best. I’m much too clumsy to be deemed exotic, and I figure I would have disappointed them sooner or later.3397921426_34c36be125

 

don't let the light in

don't let the light in

3397111987_488d0e5eb33397097147_922e4d26c8

