red_cutout_modelOHHH! me-het bahoot kushu. that’s not the proper way to spell “I’m very happy” in hindi but it will have to do. The show and event was a raging success. I spoke in front of an audience of 500 and didn’t stutter and stumble one bit  and my collection was very well received. I am told Katherine Hamnett wolf whistled during my collection. I got to meet her after the show “Darling, I thought  your collection was stunning” she said. Her assistant then turned to me and said” she’s not just saying it to be nice. She really did.” WOWWWW! I then stumbled and stuttered through a thank you and and ran away.
I am so relieved it is over and  I am very proud of the work I have created. To be honest I didn’t receive a single measurement of any of the models and the only fitting I had was 2 hours before the event started!very frustrating. It was very tense the whole way through. Luckily I prepared and made all my garments adjustable so the fits turned out very well. Anywhooozz, just a bunch of fashion talk. As I’m sure you’ve already noticed, I posted some pics of the models and my garments from backstage. The girls walked to the tune of “Sun Lips” by black moth super rainbow. Enjoy!

green_corset

striped_dress

 

red_cutout_jacket

 

finale_dress

 

It’s not all the outfits, but it’s a start. I’ll post the professional runway pics as soon as I receive them. And last but not least my speech.

Good evening ladies and gentlemen. My name is Karina Nadia Michel. I am a graduated of the California College of the Arts in San Francisco  in fashion design.  I am here in India on a collaborative project with Pratibha Syntex with a sustainable effort to reduce textile waste in the fashion industry. This entire collection, of which I have named “A Blossoming” is entirely constructed out of jersey garment waste generated at Pratbha Syntex. It is not a concept based on organic substitution rather a concept focused on up-cycling and redefining the value of waste. In this collection you will find garments made from bone cuttings,  panel rejects, defect knitting, uneven dyeing, and small cut waste.

This is a representation of the value that can be reinstated back into waste with the use of thoughtful design and hand skills. Moving forward, I will spend the next 5 months in Indore, India working with the local women and their hand skills to expand this collection. Thank You (and then they started the runway walk.pretty cool huh?)

