Beginning in August the festival season in India begins. It’s a time when many of the most major holidays convene within a 3 month span.
Last night I got completely dolled up to dance in a circle of 200 people with two sticks in hand. For the most part it was very awkward being thrown into a circle to dance a dance that most Indians have known since childhood. But I did my best and just twirled when I didn’t know the step. Needless to say, I was very dizzy by the end of the night.
As for the two sticks in my hand, that involves a choreographed series of clapping them together as you ran around in a circle. I was happy that by the end of night i sustained no injuries and most importantly inflicted no injuries….serious injuries that is. I did poke Shresta’s eye at one point in the evening but she was sweet enough to continue dancing ,one eye closed, without a single complaint.
One of my sisters had asked me once as to how the the long chain that runs down the center of your forehead stays put. Well, it just does. No magic involved. You have to adjust it every so often but not too much trouble really.

the whole sha-bang

the whole sha-bang

 

two-sticks

two-sticks

jewels in the back of a rick-shaw

jewels in the back of a rick-shaw

