I can’t believe I’ve been here almost seven months and I’ve yet to learn enough hindi to hold a conversation, but what I truly can’t believe is that I’ve not been on a single sightseeing expedition till yesterday! in seven months! and I’m in living in one of the richest cultural capitals of the world! yikes…
I just came back from my first sight seeing trip to the ancient city of Meheshwar about 91 km out of Indore and let me just say I’ve never been so humbled by what is considered to be a humble example of an Indian palace. Built in the late 18th century, Meheshwar was the palace residence of the Maharaja of Indore, and today it is now a temple dedicated to the lord Shiva-ji. A palace after my own heart, the basement level is dedicated to the ancient and infamous art of Meheshwar Weaving. An NGO group that began in the late seventies created Rehwa society and sets out to improve and empower the lives of Meheshwar women creating a balance working structure for the women. I got to meet with the women and they demonstrated their unique craft of silk weaving. Afterwards, myself along with 5 designers from Canada visiting Pratibha, bought 32 Scarves! The women were so grateful they threw in a complimentary scarf to our driver for bringing them such great business.
On a side note, according to legend Meheshwar women were granted sexual freedom by the god Agni and allowed to roam unbound to their husband. Wow! Such contemporary ideas for an ancient legend. So in summary, a gorgeous palace off the bank of a beautiful river that houses empowered women weavers, and sexual liberty. I’m starting to really like it here.

Meheshwar

Meheshwar

IMG_0540

the temple, and my bullet hole bindi

the temple, and my bullet hole bindi

the banks of Narmada River

the banks of Narmada River

IMG_0548

lord shiva commutes by cow

lord shiva commutes by cow

Rehwa society weavers

Rehwa society weavers

