Monday was HOLI. I don’t think any American holiday can compare to holi. I had a ridiculous amount of fun smearing and being smeared with intensely rich colors of pinks, greens, blues and yellows. Seeing everyone around you completely consumed with vibrating colors was almost intoxicating and the spirit was wild, almost ruthless, but always followed with a gesture of respect and kindness. Everyone began the morning wearing white and ended it looking like characters from the most far out psychedelic music video. Bands of drummers visited your house at 8 in the morning and exploded you wide awake. The kids chased you with water guns and I chased them with buckets of water. The women visited in teams bearing generous hugs and generous slaps of color.
I’ve decided that for next year I will have a white tailored suit made just for the occasion.

