On Monday I spent the evening in Meheshwar and attended Jhoole’s second annual Fashion Show. The women walked the ramp and showed off thier year worth of learning and training, and I judged first, second, and third… which was very nerve racking for me. I am so deeply impressed with Hannah, the director of Jhoole, and her dedication and hardwork with organizing the women. It’s been such a joy to see the organization grow from when I first met them and sat inside a pink living room to now with new facilities, fashion shows, and more and more women participating. I’m looking forward to my summer project with Jhoole!
First, second, and third place winners. Our first place winner started to cry. She spent 2 months embroidering, block printing and patterning the dress she’s wearing. Yup, that’s women empowerment for ya!

VISIT: http://www.jhoole.org/

